Feminism as it applies to me

Before coming to college I don’t think I would have ever called myself a feminist.  My opinion of feminism was skewed by the negative representations of what it means to be a feminist by the media.  Changing my minor to women’s studies was one of the best decisions I have ever made.  Upon taking these courses I was enlightened and I believe that these courses also helped me find my true calling.  I can now confidently say that I advocate feminism and that I am a feminist.  Being an african american feminist deals with a lot more than simply equal rights for women.  Being an african american feminist means that I am a strong woman whose thoughts are shaped by ending oppression in all forms for all people.  Being an african american feminist means that I can uplift black men and show young children that we are not defined by the negative stereotypes of us in the media, but that we are defined by the knowledge and strength that allows us to fight for a better tomorrow.  Being an african american feminist means that I can give a voice to those who struggle to find theirs.  Being an African-American feminist means that I can continue to fight the negative images and perceptions of my brothers and sisters by being educated and aware.  Being an african american feminist means that I can be proud of my sexuality without trying to hide who I truly am.  For these reasons and many more I am so thankful that the women who came before me made it possible for me to not only become an educated black woman, but a black woman who is comfortable in her own skin.  Learning more about african american feminism and its ideals has overall helped me to become a better person and for that I am greatly humbled and appreciative.

Posted on April 26, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

