My Pledge of Allegiance to Me

http://www.tributetoblackwomen.com/poems/pledge.htm

My Pledge of Allegiance to Me

Written by Letitia L. Hodge

There’s more to me than the human eye can see.

I’m a woman of purpose and destiny.

A perfect design, I’m special and unique.

I won’t be identified by the parts that make

up my physique.

My beauty is not defined by my skin or my hair

and my soul has more value than

the clothes that I wear.

I’m not a symbol of pleasure or sex appeal;

I have the natural ability to comfort

and the power to heal.

When God made me, He created a gem

because He fashioned me in the likeness of Him.

I refuse to do anything that will put God to shame.

I deserve to be treated with reverence

and called by my name.

I can’t be purchased or sold at any price

because I’ve already been bought and paid

for by the precious blood of Christ!

This was a nice poem that speak a lot of volume and letting women know that we are not defined by our outward appearance. We should “WOW” people by what we bring to the table with our minds not our bodies. Also that God created us and that we should be treated how God treats us.
About missbrittney2012

I'm a Senior that will be graduating in May 2012 & I'm double majoring in Criminal Justice & Psychology! I'm a cool and laidback person, so don't be afraid to speak when you see me around campus!

Posted on April 1, 2012, in BP #9. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love this poem! I want to post this in my future classroom for all young girls to see and begin to learn the message that is being given in this poem. With all the negative media surrounded by women it is important for girls to learn at an early age that beauty is beyond their outer appearance and also to remind women that sometimes forget.

  2. I liked this poem, it said a lot. God made us all unique and we all have something to offer. I am more than what a person/society defines me as. The poem reminds us that real beauty shines from within. This was a great post!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

